The year of the pig. Breaking down stereotypes. Chinese dumplings with vegetables recipe.

“There are lots of pigs in my movies. Perhaps  because it is easier to draw a pig than camel or giraffe…But pig is very similar to a human in terms of behavior  and the looks”, says Hayao Miyatzaki, Japanese producer, animator who is also  the the founder of Gibli studio.

Is this a joke? Not at all!

Scientists have decoded  pigs’ genome and discovered that pig is the closest animal related to human on this planet. We have a lot of physiological similarities and need for similar nutrients.

Pigs are one of the smartest animals with  high level of intellect.

Scientists from Emory University (United  States) have proven that pigs are smarter than dog and  can solve tasks just as good as chimpanzees.

Dozens of studies speak about high cognitive abilities of these animals – they posses long term memory, can navigate their way very well in mazes and can successfully accomplish tasks which include moving and correct placement of objects: they can control joystick, move cursor on computer  screen, use mirror to find hidden food which is a complicated task because mirror distorts space

Pigs posses an intellect of a 4 year old child, for comparison – dogs possess intellect similar to  2 year old.

Pigs are not only smart – they can also feel and show compassion, as they also have hearts.

They can express anxiety and empathy when others are in trouble. This is how their expression is described in the scientific studies of Lori Marino, The Kimmela Center for Animal Advocacy. As well as Christina M Covin from Georgia Technological Institute.
Writer and Naturalist Sy Montgomery in her book “The Good Good Pig:  The Extraordinary Life of Christopher Hogwood” has described multifaceted path of emotional and intellectual knowledge  of the piglet from his infancy to his death at 14 yo. Piglet lived in the shed next to her house and was named after famous composter and musician. Petting his belly and special delicate food made Christopher exited, he expressed it by special sound “uuunnn” and took a relaxed pose on his back to express his emotions.

Pigs have acute hearing and subtle sense of smell which compensate their weak sight.

They are taught to find truffles and very often are used instead of dogs to find drugs or smuggling. But there is one problem – pigs keep their personal affections and can totally reject working with a different person – partner.

Pigs are social animals.

When piglet is left alone – their piggy change, becomes more nervous and miserable. Animals have their own language – pigs make different sounds in different conditions. In the moment of danger instead of piggy sounds they start screeching, pigs produce sounds similar to barking when they threaten their opponent or being aggressive. They bravely come to rescue their friends – like this pig protecting his friend in the slaughter house.

Its possible that pig might save your life too. Pigs saved drawned people, saved people from burning houses and from the heart attacks. Perhaps this is why from all the 12 animals of the horoscope, pig was the last who came to Chinese Emperor’s  reception – was probably saving someone’s life.

In critical situation you would  not want the pig to turn its smart head different direction.

An old myth about pigs being dirty was probably created by peope who kept their pigs in tiny small spaces. Pigs don’t have functional seat glands and they have to roll in dirt with high clay content  to cool down. Clay also keeps comfortable body temperature longer and protects pig’s skin from parasites. mosquitoes and ticks. Its possible if pigs had more possibilities, they would have used different ways to cool their body.

Pigs are cleanest animals, just like all other animals they are trying to create comfortable conditions for themselves.

Pigs prefer clean food. During one experiment wild boars were given pieces of apples covered in sand. Before eating animals cleaned pieces in water. Then immediately consumed the  cleaned pieces.
In Chinese culture pigs symbolize prosperity and luck. Not by chance. Chinese character for HOME is made from 2 parts – roof and pig, or pig under a roof.

Wishing you a pig in the house in the new Chinese year – happiness and luck.

Let this kind, smart, happy and emotional pig creater live happy and free in our shared home on planet Earth. We are so much alike.

To celebrate happy and  abundant  Chinese New Year I brought classic recipe from my trip to China – vegetable dumping recipe.

There is no need to eat pigs. In modern agricultiure piglets are raised for the slaughter weight of 220 pounds (100 kg) at 6-8 months old. Calculated to human years this will be equivalent to 2-3 yo children (pigs live 15-2- years). Turns out if someone is eating animals – they are really eating animal babies.

Chinese vegetable dumpling recipe

Ингредиенты

  • Finely ground flour
  • Water
  • Carrots
  • Favorite leafy greens – bok choi, chard etc
  • Tofu
  • Black pepper
  • Ginger
  • Soy sauce
  • Vinegar

In classic  Chinese recipes proportion and amount of ingredients are eyeballed.

Указания

  1. In China dough is prepared by eyeballing it. Flour is mixed with water – room temperature or slightly warmer (for example 95 F or 35 C). Knead dough to make it soft but not sticky. Make a round ball out of a dough then cover with a bowl.
  2. For stuffing: cut leafy greens, tofu and carrots into  small pieces and mix together.
  3. Cut dough into several parts, roll each piece into a sausage.
  4. Cut the “sausages” across into approx.  0.4 – 0.6 inch (1 – 1.5 cm) wide rounds. Use the dough roller to roll each piece.
  5. Place a spoonful of stuffing on each and  and form dumplings.
  6. Sprinkle plate or cutting board with flour and place already formed dumplings on it.
  7. Dumplings are cooking in portions after they are prepared. As soon as the first 15-20 pieces are made they can be cooked. To insure dumplings are not falling apart cold water must be added 2-3 times. Place enough water int a pot to boil your first portion of already made dumplings. Bring water to a boil, place dumplings into boiling water. As soon as water begins to boil – add little bit of cold water and bring it again to a boil. Repeat 2 more times.
  8. Using a spoon, take dumplings out and place them on a plate. Serve with sprinkled chopped herbs on top, soy sauce and vinegar – whatever the taste preference is. Some like just with soy sauce and some just with vinegar. Can add wasabi, grated ginger or any other spices of choice.

Would you like more recipes from Asia?

Vegetable miso soup

Chinese green bean salad

Spicy vegan cheese

Baked tempeh in orange sauce

Год свиньи. Разрушая стереотипы. Рецепт китайских пельменей с овощами.

В моих фильмах очень много свиней. Может быть, это просто потому, что свинью легче нарисовать, чем верблюда или жирафа… Но, если говорить правду, мне кажется, что свинья очень похожа на человека — по поведению и внешне.“ — так говорит Хаяо Миядзаки, известный  японский режиссер – аниматор и основатель студии Гибли.

Шутка? Отнюдь!

Ученые  расшифровали геном свиньи и выяснили, что свинья – это самое близкое животное к человеку на этой планете. Нас объединяет много общих физиологических черт и потребности в одинаковых нутриентах.

Свиньи – одно из самых умных животных с высоким уровнем интеллекта.

Ученые из университета Эмори (США) доказали, что свиньи сообразительнее собак и решают задачи не хуже шимпанзе.

Десятки исследовании говорят о высоких когнитивных способностей этих животных – они обладают долговременной памятью, хорошо ориентируются в лабиринтах и успешно выполняют задания на перемещение и правильное расположение объектов: они могут манипулировать джойстиком, перемещая курсор по экрану, находить с помощью зеркала спрятанную пищу – это сложное действие – ведь зеркало искажает пространство.

Свинья обладает интеллектом 4-летнего ребенка – для сравнения, собака обладает интеллектом на уровне 2 летнего ребенка.

Свиньи не только рассудительны  – они способны чувствовать и выражать сочувствие, ведь у них тоже есть сердце.

Они могут выражать беспокойство и сопереживать, когда другие в беде. Именно так описывает поведения свиней в научных исследованиях Лори Марин из центра по защите прав животных   «Киммела» и Кристина Колвин (Christina M Colvin) из Технологического института Джорджии.

Натуралист и писательница Сай Монтгомери в одной из своих книг “Хороший, хороший поросенок: необыкновенная жизнь Кристофера Хогвуда” описывает многогранный путь эмоционального и интеллектуального познания поросенка от его младенчества до смерти в возрасте 14 лет. Поросенок жил в сарае рядом с ее домом и был назван в честь известного композитора и музыканта. Почесывание животика или специальная деликатесная еда приводила Кристофера  в восторг; он производил специальный звук “унннн” и принимал расслабленную позу на спине, чтобы  выразить свои эмоции.

У свиней острый слух и тонкое обоняние, которые компенсируют слабое зрение животных.

Их обучают  искать трюфели, а часто используют вместо собак для поиска наркотиков или контрабанды. Есть, однако; одна проблема – свиньи сохраняют личные привязанности и могут категорически отказаться  работать с другим человеком – напарником.

Свиньи – социальные животные.

Если поместить поросенка одного, его хрюканье меняется, становиться более нервным и несчастным. У животных есть свои язык – свиньи  издают разные звуки в разных условиях. В моменты опасности вместо хрюканье свинья переходит на визг, а если она угрожает противнику или агрессивна – то производит звуки, похожие на лай. Они смело бросаются на помощь своим товарищам, как эта свинья отбивает своего друга на бойне.

Возможно, свинья спасет и вашу жизнь. Свиньи спасали тонущих людей, спасали из горящих зданий и от сердечных приступов. Может быть именно поэтому свинья и пришла самой последней из 12 животных гороскопа на прием к китайскому императору – она опять кого-нибудь спасала.

 В критической ситуации вам совсем на  захочется, чтобы свинья повернула свою умную голову в другую сторону.

Сложившийся миф о нечистоплотности свиньи скорее всего создали сами люди, которые держат свиней в маленьких и грязных помещениях. Дело в том, что у свиней нет функционирующих потовых желез и им приходится валяться в прохладной глине, чтобы охладиться. Глина также дольше сохраняет приятную температуру тела и предохраняет кожу свиней от паразитов, комаров и клещей. Возможно, если бы у домашних свиней было больше возможностей, они бы использовали другие варианты охлаждения тела.

Свиньи – чистоплотные животные, они, как и все животные, стараются создать комфортные условия для жизни.

Свинья предпочитают чистую еду. В ходе одного из экспериментов кабанам  давали кусочки яблок, испачканные в песке. Прежде чем съесть их, животные споласкивали их в воде. А чистые кусочки яблок они сразу отправляли в рот.

Не зря в Китайской культуре свинья символизирует богатство и удачу. Китайский иероглиф ДОМ состоит из 2 значков – из крыши и свиньи, то есть свиньи под крышей.

Желаю вам свинью в дом в Новом Восточном году – счастье и удачу.

Пусть это доброе: умное, веселое и эмоциональное существо  свинья живет счастливо и свободно в нашем общем доме – на планете Земля. Мы же так похожи.

А для встречи счастливого и изобильное Китайского Нового года  я привезла из поездки в Китай  классический рецепт – рецепт овощных пельменей.

Совсем не надо есть свиней. В современном сельском хозяйстве поросенка откармливают до  убойного веса 100 кг к возрасту 6 – 8  месяцев – в переводе на человеческий возраст это будут 2 -3 летние дети ( продолжительность жизни свиньи 15 – 20 лет). Получается, если кто-то ест животных – он ест реально детей животных.

Рецепт китайских овощных пельменей.

Ингредиенты

  • Мука мелкого помола
  • Вода
  • Морковь
  • Любимая зелень (например китайская листовая капуста бак чой или мангольд)
  • Тофу
  • Перец черный
  • Имбирь
  • Соевый соус
  • Уксус

В классических китайских рецептах пропорции и количество ингредиентов рассчитывается на глаз.

Указания

  1. В Китае тесто месят на глаз. Мука смешивается с водой комнатной температуры или немного теплее (например 35 С). Замесить тесто, чтобы оно было мягким, но не липким. Сделать шар из теста. Можно накрыть миской.
  2. Для фарша мелко порезать зелень, тофу и морковь и смешать.
  3. Разрезать тесто на несколько частей, раскатать каждый кусочек в колбаску.
  4. Разрезать поперек на кружочки примерно 1  – 1.5 см шириной. Раскать каждый кружочек с помощью скалки.
  5. Уложить ложечку фарша и слепить пельмень.
    Выложить на доску или тарелку, пересыпанную мукой
  6. Пельмени варят порциями по мере готовности. Как только первые 15 – 20 штук вылеплены,  их уже можно варить. Чтобы пельмени не разварились, 2 – 3 раза добавляется холодная вода. Итак, налейте то количество воды в большую кастрюлю, которое достаточно для варки вашей первой порции.  Довести воду до кипения, уложить пельмени в кипящую воду. Как только вода вновь закипит, добавить немного холодной воды и вновь довести до кипения. Повторить еще 2 раза.
  7. Вынуть ложкой пельмени и уложить на тарелку. Подавать можно с зеленью, соевым соусом и уксусом – сочетание по вкусу – кто-то любить только с соевым соусом, а кто-то только с уксусом. Можно добавить васаби, тертый имбирь, или любые другие любимые специи.

Вы хотите больше рецептов из Азии?

Овощной суп мисо

Салата из стручковой фасоли по-китайски

Китайский овощной суп

Пряный веганский сыр

Темпе в апельсиновом соусе

Сыроедческие суши роллы

Острый салат из папайя

Фруктовый салат с маракуйя