A story how I joined to the international project. Almond feta cheese recipe.

Are you ready to be available  every day in order to answer complicated, not obvious and often emotionally touchy  questions?

Thus I was unexpectedly invited to join to the international project Challenge 22+.

Once upon a time  I sent them my CV and a motivation letter. So long ago time ago that the dates have completely erased from the memory. I gave up a hope for the answer. Suddenly at the end of March a message from Tanya from Australia arrived inviting for an interview. We went once again through my Bio and motivations. I received a project description,  a mission and project instructions, rules of conduct. Then i joint to a test group, to check if I can diplomatically answer complex questions. Then another test to check knowledge of instructions. Everything was completed within the tough deadlines. Then I became a member of the project mentors’ group. After a month of tests and interview my first project is starting The mentor team is truly international: from Australia and Africa to Europe and America. The team is always available  24×7.

“What is this project about?”

Challenge 22+ offers to experience 22 days to live vegan.

The idea was created by the Animal Rights Organization from Israel Anonymous and very quickly expanded beyond just a  national project. Each month, several groups are ready to receive those who is curious  to try a vegan diet and vegan life style. The quality of the data and its presentation, program structure, support group, organization and networking are at the highest level, any business could be proud of such top niveau arrangements . The project has its own team of qualified dieticians, and all questions on nutrition, vitamins, supplements, diets are addressed primarily to them.

Want to try?

Participation is absolutely free, within the project framework participants are offered  to try at least one vegan dish per day, each day has its own theme.

All the communication between participants, mentors and nutritionists takes place in a secret FB group where every one  can share impressions, photos of vegan food, ask for support or questions on any topics related to veganism. Vegans with experience (mentors) will share their life hacks, ideas to veganize your favorite recipe, find the nearest supermarket with delicious vegan food or simply support in a challenging moment.
My first group is very international, with different motivations and life experiences. However, an overwhelming number of questions are about cheese: how to eliminate cheese from the diet and how to replace it, where to find fine vegan cheeses and whether to make them home.

Thus, I’m expanding the palette  of cheese recipes. My favorite recipe for vegan mozzarella was received very warm. Today there will be an almond feta, recommended by one of the mentors Challenge22 +.

By the way, if there is no desire to cook today, here is a list of my favorite vegan cheeses.

Swiss No – Moo (producer of Vegusto)
German Wilmersburger
German Simple V
Russian VolkoMolko
Canadian Daiya
Swiss Soyananda
German Veganz
German Happy Cheeze (raw)

What are your favorite brands of vegan cheeses? Please share your favourites.  Magic Green Kitchen would be delighted to add new names to the collection.

Almond Feta Cheese recipe.

Ingredients

  • Almonds – 150 g
  • Lemon Juice – 1/4 cup
  • Garlic – 1-2 cloves
  • Olive oil – 2 – 3 Tb sp
  • Black ground pepper
  • Sea salt or Himalayan salt (optional)

For flavour herb oil

  • Olive oil – 1/4 cup
  • Oregano
  • Rosmarin
  • Thymus
  • Or any other your favourite herbs

Directions

  1. Pre-soak almonds in water over night. This process not only soften the nuts, but also eliminate enzyme inhibitors and phytic acid to make the nuts more beneficial to the body and make it easier to digest.
  2. Prepare the herb oil to flavor the cheese. Pour 1/4 cup of olive oil in a small jar or a bottle with a wide neck. Rinse the herbs  and place them into the oil. Close the lid and leave the oil in a dark place. The original recipe  suggested cooking the olive oil together with the herbs in a sauté pan and then cooling the sauce down, but I do not like to heat this fine Italian oil.
  3. Drain and rinse the nuts. I also peeled off the almonds. After soaking it s very easy to  separated almond grains.
  4. Place the nuts in the blender. Add garlic cloves, peeled and cut into several pieces. Add the lemon juice, olive oil, pepper and salt and 50 – 75 ml  water.  Mix well into a homogeneous smooth mass. Depending on your blender or kitchen combine the process may take 5 – 6 minutes,  Thermomix managed it within 2 minutes. 
  5. Place a larger strainer over a bowl, cover it with a several layer cheesecloth. Spoon the almond mixture into the cheesecloth. Bring corners and side together, twist it forming an orange size ball, eliminating access of the liquid from the cheese. Fix the cloth with the rubber and cool it down overnight in the fridge.
  6. You can stop at this stage as you have already raw almond ricotta, you just need to remove it from the cloth bag.
  7. Place the almond mass on the baking paper, form with a hand or with a culinary ring a cylinder 3 – 5 cm high.
  8. Bake the cheese in the over at 175 C during 25 – 30 minutes. Before serving toss the cheese with the herb olive oil.

 

Would you like to try more cheese recipes? The Magic Green Kitchen has a collection of vegan cheese recipes in Pinterest.

Want more stories? Subscribe to the newsletter with special  stories only for subscribers.

Want to be updated on new vegan trends and lifestyle, life hacks and ideas for daily recipes?

Subscribe to the page Magic Travel Green Kitchen in Facebook, @magic_green_kitchen at Instagram, Twitter.

История, как я попала в международный проект. Рецепт миндального сыра “фета”.

Вы готовы быть доступны ежедневно и отвечать на трудные, неоднозначные, часто очень эмоциональные вопросы?
Так  неожиданно меня пригласили в международный проект Challenge 22+.

Давным давно я  направляла им свое резюме и “вдохновляющее” письмо — обоснование. Так давно, что даты полностью стерлись из моей памяти. Я уже и ждать перестала ответа. И вдруг в конце марта приходит сообщение от Тани из Австралии с приглашением на собеседование.  Мы еще раз прошлись по биографии и моим целям. Мне выслали  миссию и инструкции проекта, правила поведения. Пригласили в тестовую группу, проверить, могу ли я дипломатично  отвечать на сложные вопросы. Потом еще один тест на знание инструкций. Уложиться надо в жесткие временные  рамки.  После тестов пригласили в группу ведущих. И вот спустя месяц после всех собеседований и экзаменов запускается мой первый проект, где я работаю в  менторской команде. Команда международная от Австралии и Африки до Европы и Америки. Команда всегда на связи 24х7.

«О чем же этот проект?»  спросите вы.

 Challenge 22+ предлагает  попробовать 22 дня жить по-вегански.

Идея  была запущена организацией защиты прав животных Израиля Anonymous и очень быстро вышла за рамки национального проекта. Каждый месяц открывается несколько групп для тех, кто хочет попробовать веганскую диету. Качество материалов и его презентация, структура программы, группа поддержки, организация и нетворкинг на высочайшем уровне, такому любой бизнес может такому позавидовать. У проекта есть своя команда квалифицированных диетологов, и все вопросы по правилам питания, витаминам, добавкам, диетам  адресуются в первую очередь им.

Хотите попробовать?

Участие абсолютно бесплатное, в рамках проекта предлагается попробовать хотя бы одно веганское блюдо в день по тематическому рецепту.

Вся коммуникация участников и команды менторов и диетологов происходит в секретной группе ФБ, где можно поделиться впечатлениями, опубликовать ваши фото веганской еды, попросить поддержки или задать вопросы на любые темы, которые касаются веганизма. Веганы со стажем (менторы) поделятся  своими лайфхаками, помогут веганизировать ваш любимый рецепт, найти ближайший супермаркет с вкусной веганской едой  или просто поддержат в сложный момент.

Моя первая группа очень международная, с различными мотивациями и жизненным опытом. А подавляющие число вопросов  о сыре, точнее как отказаться и как заменить сыр, есть ли веганские сыры, как их найти и можно ли самим приготовить.

Я расширяю линейку сырных рецептов. Мой любимый рецепт веганской моцареллы разошелся на ура. Сегодня будет миндальная фета, которую рекомендовал один из менторов Challenge22+.

Кстати, если нет желания готовить сегодня, вот список моих любимых веганских сыров.

Швейцарский No — Moo (производитель Вегусто Vegusto)
Немецкий Wilmersburger
Немецкий Simple V 
Российский VolkoMolko
Канадская Daiya
Швейцарская Soyananda 
Немецкий Veganz
Немецкий Happy Cheeze (сыроедческий)

 A какие ваши любимые марки веганских сыров? Напишите, пожалуйста. Добавим в коллекцию.

Рецепт веганского сыра «фета» из миндальных орехов

Ингредиенты

  • Миндаль — 150 г
  • Лимонный сок — 1/4 стакана
  • Чеснок — 1-2 головки
  • Свежемолотый перец
  • Морская или гималайская соль — 1/2 ч л (опционно)
  • Оливковое масло — 2-3 ст ложки

Для аромата (соус)

  • Оливковое масло — 1/4 стакана
  • Орегано
  • Розмарин
  • Тимьян (или другие любимые травки)

Указания

  1. Миндаль предварительно замочить на ночь. Это позволяет не только размягчить орехи, но и убрать кислоту, которая сохраняет орехи от насекомых, но одновременно мешает перевариванию и усвоению белков и других полезных элементов миндаля.
  2. Можно заранее настоять оливковое масло на травках для аромата. Налить 1/4 стакана оливкового масла в небольшую баночку или бутылочку с широким горлышком. Хорошо помыть веточки зелени и добавить в масло. Закрыть крышкой и оставить в темном месте нас.таиваться. В оригинале рецепта предлагалось разогреть оливковое масло в сотейнике с зеленью и затем остудить, но мне совсем не хотелось нагревать прекрасное итальянское масло.
  3. Слить воду и сполоснуть орехи. Я их еще и очистила от шкурки для белого цвета. Шкурки очень легко отделяются от миндальных зерен после вымачивания.
  4. Положить орехи в блендер. Добавить дольки чеснока, очищенные от шелухи и разрезанные на несколько кусочков. Добавить лимонный сок, оливковое масло, перец и соль и 50- 75 мл воды. Все хорошо проблендить до однородной массы (должно получиться как очень густая сметана по консистенции). Зависит от мощности блендера — Термомикс справился за 2 минуты. Некоторые рецепты рекомендуют 5 — 6 минут.
  5. В средней величины мисочку уложить квадрат из марли, сложенную в несколько слоев (25 х 25 см). Я сконструировала фильтр из широкого бинта. Выложить массу в марлю, сделать мешочек, соединив углы ткани сверка в центре, скрутить, чтобы дать выйти лишней жидкости. У вас получится шар размера с апельсин. Конструкцию закрепить резиночкой сверху. Положить мешочек в ситечко и дать излишку жидкости стечь.
  6. Положить мешочек в холодильник на пару часов или на ночь, чтобы охладиться.
  7. На этом этапе можно уже остановиться — у вас получилась прекрасная миндальная рикотта, которую только нужно вынуть из марлевого мешочка.
  8. Для запекания выложить массу из мешочка на бумагу для запекания и сформировать руками или с помощью кулинарного кольца цилиндр 3 -5 см высотой.
  9. Запекать в духовке 175 С в течение 25 — 30 минут. Перед подачей полить для аромата оливковым маслом с травками.

Хотите попробовать больше сырных рецептов?  У Зеленой кухни есть коллекция рецептов в Pinterest.

Хотите больше историй? Подписывайтесь на рассылку с необыкновенными историями только для подписчиков.

Хотите быть в курсе новинок веганского тренда и стиля жизни, лайфхаки и ежедневные идеи для рецептов — подписывайтесь на страничку Необыкновенное путешествие зеленая кухня в Фейсбуке, magic_green_kitchen в Интаграмме, Твиттере.

Давайте дружить вкусно.