Vegan climate ETF. Stuffed squash recipe.

In November I attended  the ICMA (International Capital Markets Association)  program in London devoted to the growing role of women in ESG  finance and sustainable projects. During the structured networking I met a young women, the 1st year postgraduate, she just joint a couple of month ago to the capital markets team in one of the leading banks.   ” Why did you choose the finance industry?” – I wonder . “I would like to make decisions, which will change the world for better” – she smiles back to me. “Finance industry is the bloodstreams in the world economy system.  The projects will develop when the funding resource are made available. I would like that the money flows to create the better future.”. ESG is the modern economical terms which means Environmental, Social and corporate Governance

Our finance decisions have the power to change the world.

There are  good news for vegans and everyone, who would like to made the world kinder.  This year 3 vegan finance   professionals   Beyond Advisors registered with US SEC the   US VEGAN CLIMATE ETF to start to trade. To create the underlining index they screened Solactive US Large Corp (proxy for  S&P 500 index) and excluded all shares which underlining business activity do not meet vegan (animal harming) and climate conscious approach. The exclusion criteria removed app 41% of the market capitalisation of Solactive US Large Corp as of  May 2018.
Beyond Advisors is a research arm of the impact investing platform Beyond Investors.

This is the first exchange trading invesment instrument, which will give the investment opportunity for vegan to support the project and economy in a way which meets their values, believes and life style. The reports suggest that app 6% of the US population identify as vegan

“As compared with an exposure to the Solactive US Large Cap index, an investor in this new index will avoid funding the slaughter of 13 animals a year for every $1,000 invested” – says the press- release.

In Bloomberg database this ETF is registered with ticker VEGAN.

In accordance with Bloomberg’s dataг  there are more than USD 6 billion investments are focused on ESG (environmental, social and corporate governance projects), it is 5 times larger amount than 5 years ago. Although it is still a drop in the ETF market exceeding USD 3.5 trillions.

Do you like to learn more about green, conscious and ecology friendly investments? I put together a reading list.

Where do the leaders invest in_

Land, water, air or risky investor games

5 ideas for organic holidays or how to change the world

VBLOG – Vegan Bankery 

It is not fun to study finance without a meal! Easy, delicious, festive, spicy recipe of stuffed squash. I peeked the idea also in Boston, where I brought  that magic almond pear tart recipe from.

Stuffed squash recipe.

Ingredients

  • Squash small medium size  of app 3 lb – I could recommend winter sort Akorn
  • Apples  – 2 pcs of medium size
  • Rasins  – 1 handfull
  • Cranberries  – 1 handfull (fresh or dried)
  • Quinoa  – 20 g
  • Cinnamon  – 1 tsp
  • Ginger  – 1 cm of root
  • Vanilla – 1/4 tsp or to taste
  • Curcuma  – 1/2 tsp
  • Cardamon – to taste (optional)
  • Sunflower seeds or pine nuts – 1 to 2 Tbsp
  • Lemon juice – 1 Tbsp

Directions

  1. Rinse the squash and cut in half lengthwise, clear away the seeds and strings from the cut, e.g. with the spoon. Line a backing paper on the pan, place pumpkin and prebake it in oven at 200C for 20 – 25 minutes  (Picture taken in Boston)
  2. For the filling. Cook quinoa. Soak raisins for 10 – 15 minutes.  Cut apples in  quarters and deseed them, chop apples in small pieces. Drain and rinse raisins, mix them with apples, add finely graded ginger, spices, cranberries and seeds (optional). Mix well. Sprinkle lemon juice. Put the filling in the skillet with the high sides and thick bottom, add a couple of table spoons of water and sauté for 7 – 10 minutes, stirring  from time to time.
    (Picture is taken in Boston where we were cooking stuffed squash for the festive Saturday dinner for 10 people)
    Cook until the extra water disappear. Take the filling from the flame, add cooked quinoa and mix well together. Ready.
  3. Fill the squash halves well, press the filling with the spoon well, so it is firm inside.
  4. Line the baking paper in the baking form. Place the stuffed squash in the baking form in a way, that it is balanced and you are not at risk that filling may fall out.  Bake in the oven for another 20 – 25 minutes at 200С.
  5. Top with fresh cranberries or/ and greens (fresh coriander, basil, dill, fennel).

Веганские климатические акциии. Рецепт фаршированной тыквы.

В ноябре я принимала участие в семинаре  ICMA (Ассоциация международных рынков капиталов) в Лондоне, посвященной растущей важности роли  женщин в финансирование зеленых экологически устойчивых проектах и программах. Во время «структурированного нетворкинга — общения» знакомлюсь с девушкой —  начинающим банкиром. Она  только окончила университет этим летом. » А почему ты  выбрала финансовую индустрию.?» — любопытствую я . » Я хочу принимать решения, которые делают мир лучше «- широко улыбается собеседница  в ответ. «Финансовая индустрия — кровеносная система мировой экономики. Развиваются те проекты, которые  получают денежные ресурсы. Я хочу, чтобы  деньги направлялись для создания лучшего будущего».

Наши финансовые решения меняют мир.

Есть еще одна хорошая новость для веганов и всех, кто хочет сделать мир добрее.  В  этом году 3 вегана — профессиональных финансиста  из Beyond Advisors зарегистрировали  специализированный веганский климатический ETF (биржевой фонд) US VEGAN CLIMATE. Фонд  был построен на основе индекса Solactive US Large Corp (аналог индекса S&P 500). Из него были исключены акции всех компаний (примерно 40 процентов) , которые напрямую участвуют в эксплуатации животных, разрушении окружающей среды и изменении климата.

Практически это первый биржевой инвестиционный инструмент, который позволяет веганам инвестировать в те проекты, которые отвечают их убеждениям и стилю жизни. В соответствии с последними исследованиями примерно 6% населения США считают себя веганами.

В соответсвии с пресс релизом  по сравнению с индексом Solactive US Large Corp, инвестиция 1,000 долларов США US Vegan Climate ETF (Американский Веганский климатический биржевой фонд) сохраняет 13 жизней животных от скотобойни.

В системе Блумберг такой фонд котируется под тикером VEGAN.

В соответствии с данными Блумберг  на начало октября этого года фондов с общим объемом инвестиций  более 6 миллиардов долларов США специализируются на  экологических, социальных темах и темах корпоративного управления (английский термин ESG), это в 5 раз больше, чем 5 лет назад, но все еще очень незначительно на рынке ETF в 3.5 триллиона долларов США.

Хотите узнать больше про зеленые, осознанные  и экологические инвестиции? Я составила подборку блога по этой теме.

Куда инвестируют лидеры 

Земля, вода, возду, или рискованные игры инвесторов с огнем

Органические финансы — мой банк самый зеленый? 

Диета для планеты. Наше будушее без мяса

5 идей органического отпуска или как изменить мир

VBLOG — Vegan Bankery 

Но не изучать же матчать на голодный желудок! Простой, вкусный, праздничный, пряный  рецепт фаршированной тыквы. Идею рецепта я тоже подсмотрела  в Бостоне, так же как и этот волшебный грушевый тарт,

Рецепт фаршированной тыквы.

Ингредиенты

  • Тыква 1 среднего размера (примерно 1 -1;5 кг) — хорошо подойдет зимний сорт Акорн
  • Яблоки -2 шт среднего размера
  • Изюм — 1 горсть
  • Брусника — 1 горсть (сырая или сушеная)
  • Киноа — 20 г
  • Корица — 1 ч ложка
  • Имбирь — 1 см корня
  • Ваниль — 1/4 ч ложки или по вкусу
  • Куркума — 1/2 ч ложки
  • Кардамон — по вкусу опционно
  • Семена подсолечника или кедровые орешки 1 — 2 ст ложка
  • Лимонный сок — 1 ч ложка

Указания

  1. Помыть тыкву и разрезать ее вдоль пополам , очистить от семян и межсеменной мякоти. Это может сделать ложкой. Уложить тыквы на противень на бумагу для запекания и запекать ее в духовке 20 — 25 минут при температуре 200С (фото из Бостона) 
  2. Подготовить начинку. Сварить киноа. Замочить изюм.  Вынуть из яблок серединку и косточки, нарезать яблоки на небольшие кубики — со стороной примерно 5 мм. Слить воду с изюма, смешать с яблоками. Добавить натертый на терке имбирь (опционно), семена подсолнечника (или кедровые орешки) (опционно)  и специи. Хорошо перемешать. Сбрызнуть лимонным соком. Смесь выложить в разогретую сковородку с высокими стенками и толстым дном и потушить в течение 7 — 10 минут в небольшом количестве воды, перемешивая время от времени. (Фотография из Бостона. где мы готовили фаршированную тыкву на званный ужин в субботу на 10 человек)
    Дать воде выпариться. Снять с огня,  добавить киноа и хорошо перемешать. Начинка готова.
  3. Уложить начинку в половинки тыкву, можно даже с небольшой горкой, утрамбовать ложкой.
  4. Выложить фаршированную тыкву в форму для запекания таким образом, чтобы половинки были устойчивы. Поставить в духовку на 20 -25 минут запекаться при температуре 200С. 
  5. Для подачи можно украсить парой ягод свежей брусники и/или пряной зеленью.