Taipei vegan restaurant guide. Chinese vegetable soup recipe.

Taipei is the word’s leader for restaurant innovations.

This is where  restaurant trends analyst Marjan Ippel  recommended to go to taste the most delicious food.

There is an endless fusion of harmoniously combined European, Chinese, Japanes and Oceania style dishes. Taipei is  very green city, not only due to its parks and boulevards where Taiwanese are practicing Tai Chi, but also due to its huge selection of vegan cafes, restaurants, confectioneries and bakeries.

Map of vegan restaurants and cafes in Taipei from Happy Cow App (More details how the platform works please read in How to find a vegan restaurant in the new  city).

2 weeks were not enough to try everything but the places I visited produced  magical experiene

Flourish

Comfy vegan restaurant with fusion of taiwanese and japanese dishes. They do have plenty of tables but its worth to reserve ahead, especially if you are planning to come with friends. Restaurant is in the area full of cafes, boutique stores, small shops and fashion parlors, 2 feet away from the most central shopping street and is almost always crowded. This is where for the first time I saw an article about Dr Campbell’s  China Study, in Chinese. The main chef has embraced healthy vegan food with organic whole ingredients. They serve brown rice  which is  not very typical for Taiwan, yet. Their menu is great for a big company, to try most of the chef’s masterpieces. If its just one person like myself, can order a bowl, sushi (also with brown rice)and  seasonal veggies lightly steamed Taiwan style. I chose their classic desert – bean pudding, but cakes on the display seem to look too exotic to not get tempted not to order a piece to go, a very eastern style to complete the classic – unbelievably tender piece of pie made with rice flour, covered with green matcha frosting.

Kaya Kaya Kaya Cafe

Most vegan cafes open for lunch but Kaya Kaya Cafe is open for breakfast at 10:00 am. European style food with a light Asian accent. Taipei’s chefs are definitely masters of fusion. They have a cozy green veranda which is great because even in December temperature in Taipei is over 20 C. There are 2 breakfast menus – light or more filling. My big black coffee cup full of drip coffee was amazing, as good as in the best coffee houses in Vienna. Later I was told that Taipei is famous for one of the best coffee. And btw Kaya Kaya is located few minutes walking from Flourish, on the same street.

Miss Green

Owner and creater of the project loves dogs. Love for dog friends got her to become vegan, inspired to open her own vegan restaurant. Concept of this restaurant is very simple – to slowly enjoy healthy fast food. Colorful menu with great selection of salads, vegetable and dishes made from different grains. More than half of ingredients are organic and are being supplied directly by the local farms. Once again trendy fusion: usual wrap, sandwich or risotto  filled with seasonal local produce, spiced with light Asian spices and dressings. They had the best raw chocolate cake I ever had. Tart, thick and gentle chocolate keeps its individual taste because there are no sugar or sugar substitutes  used in this cake. Only fresh and dried fruit (dates for example). They did  not tell us  all the secrets of the kitchen, so waiting for the upcoming recipe book. They also sell vegan dog food for the favorite companion.

The Green Room

This is the second project of Miss Green created together with her father. They are offering Thai dishes – her father grew up in Thailand where his family  had escaped from the civil war in China. They offer quality ingredients from local farmers and organic products  plus supporting few Thai farm projects.

Offering light snacks or filling dinner – up to the client’s preferences. Soup, different  steamed veggies and greens with Asian dresses, Thai curry for spicy food lovers. Desert is amazing – also raw, gentle and perfectly sweet, full of southern fruit taste, which touch new notes just like eastern oil fragrances do.

Souls R Vegan

Small cozy cafe with European and mostly italian dishes. Was surprised by banana vanilla Creme Brûlée. Not too many even experienced  chefs decide to include creme brûlée  into their vegan menu. Here it is a total winner. It is was worth coming here just to try it.

What should one definitely try in Taipe:

1. Vegan bread with bean filling or sesame paste.

2. Organic soup in  packages

3. Oolong tea

Vegetable Chinese soup recipe

Ингредиенты

  • 1/2 or 1 bell pepper
  • 4 cherry tomatoes –
  • 1 medium size carrot
  • 3-4 green beans
  • 4 brussel sprouts
  • 1 celery stem
  • 3-4 leaves of leafy greens (bokchoi cabbage)
  • 1/3 inch of ginger
  • lemon grass – 1 twig or to taste
  • hot chilly pepper to taste
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • couple of cilantro twigs
  • 1 cup chinese rice noodles
  • black peppercorns to taste
  • 4 cups of water

Указания

  1. Wash and clean all vegetables. Cut bell peppers and carrots into long pieces, cut onion into rings and cherry tomatoes into quarters, brussel sprouts into halfs or quarters, cut string beans lenthwise or into pieces across, finally chop celery. Shred ginger  and lemongrass and cut  onto several rounds across. Clean hot chilly  pepper  from the seeds. Cut bok choi into small pieces across.
  2. Pour water into the pot and bring to a boil. Add ginger, peppercorns, lemongrass, bell peppers, onions, brussel sprouts, green beans, celery, tomatoes and bok choi. Add hot chilly pepper  to taste. Slowly simmer on medium heat.
  3. Add noodles and cook for approx 5 more minutes.
  4. Add cilantro leaves and finally chopped garlic and serve.

Веганский гид по Тайбэй. Рецепт китайского овощного супа.

Тайбэй – мировой лидер ресторанных инноваций.

Именно сюда аналитик ресторанных трендов  Marjan Ippel рекомендует поехать, чтобы попробовать самую вкусную еду.

Здесь сплошной фьюжн – гармоничное сочетание европейских, китайских, японских стилей с кухней Океании. Тайбэй – очень зеленый город, не только в смысле парков и бульваров, где тайванцы практикуют тай чи, но и с огромным выбором веганских кафе, ресторанов, кондитерских и пекарен.

Карта веганских кафе и ресторанов Тайбея – Платформа Happy Cow. (Как пользоваться платформой – и  как быстро найти веганский ресторан в незнакомом городе)

За 2 недели не удалось продегустировать все, но те местечки, где я побывала, произвели волшебное впечатление.

Flourish (Флоуриш)

Уютный веганский ресторан с тайваньско – японской кухней с элементами фьюжн. Хотя столиков много ( я насчитала около 30) стоит сделать резервирование, особенно если вы собираетесь компанией. Ресторан находится в  квартале кафе, бутиков, маленьких магазинчиков и салонов красоты, в 2 шагах от одной из центральных торговых улиц и практически всегда заполнен. Здесь я впервые увидела Китайское исследование доктора Кэмпбелла на китайском. Кстати, шеф явный приверженец не только веганского, но и здорового питания с органическими и цельными ингредиентами – здесь подается не рафинированный коричневый рис, что пока не типично для Тайваня. Здесь очень популярны комби меню, это прекрасно подходит для большой компании – можно попробовать практически все меню. Для меню соло, подойдет боул, суши (тоже с коричневым рисом) или сезонные слегка припущенные овощи по -тайваньски, На десерт можно выбрать классику – фасолевый пудинг, а торты тоже несут особенную восточную нотку – например, вот такой невероятно нежный на рисовой муке  с кремом с зеленой мачей

 Kaya Kaya Cafe Кафе Кая Кая

Большинство веганских кафе открывается к обеду, а вот в Кая Кая кормят завтраком с 10 утра. Европейская кухня с легким налетом азиатчины. Повара Тайбэя   -однозанчно мастера фьюжн. Есть уютная зеленая веранда на несколько столиков – эт очень импонирует, ведь даже в декабре в Тайбэй выше 20 С. На завтрак можно выбрать несколько меню включая напиток. Моя большая чашка черного фильтрованного кофе оказалась просто шикарной. Как в лучших Венских кофейнях. Мне потом сказали, что Тайбэй славится одним из лучших кофе. Да, кстати, Кая Кая расположена в нескольких минутах пешком от Флоуриш, на той же самой улице.

Miss Green Мисс Грин

Владелица и вдохновитель  проекта обожает собак. Любовь к друзьям собакам привела ее к веганству и вдохновила открыть свой первый веганский ресторан. Концепция ресторана очень проста – медленно насладиться полезным фаст – фудом. Меню красочно и  предлагает прекрасный выбор салатов, овощей и разных круп. Более половины ингредиентов – органические и поставляются напрямую местными фермеров. И вновь – трендовый фьюжн – Оболочка рапа , сэндвича или ризотто наполняется сезонными местными ингредиентами с легким азиатским ароматом и соусом. А такого шоколадного сыроедческого торта я еще никогда в своей жизни не пробовала. Терпкий густой нежный шоколад сохраняет свою индивидуальность, так как в торте не используются ни сахар, ни его заменители. Только живые фрукты и сухофрукты (финики, например). Рецептурного секрета нам не раскрыли, так что ждем книгу рецептов.

The Green Room Зеленая комната

Это второй веганский ресторан от Мисс Грин. Правда кухня здесь уже Южно – Азиатская, смешение китайской, тайваньской и тайской. Легко перекусить или плотно пообедать – уже личный выбор клиента. Суп, разнообразные припущенные овощи с азиатскими соусами, тайский карри ( для тех, кто любит погорячее). А десерты просто невероятные, тоже сыроедческие, нежные, в меру сладкие, богатые южными фруктовыми вкусами, которые как восточные масла, открывают новые нотки.

Souls R Vegan Дуща веганская 

Маленькое уютное кафе с европейской преимущественно итальянской кухней. Чем удивили? Бананово – ванильное крем брюле. Не все даже опытные шефы решаются включить крем – брюле в веганское меню. Здесь – однозначно победитель. Сюда стоило ехать только ради этого.

Что надо попробовать в Тайбэй

  1. Веганский хлеб с начинкой из фасоли или кунжутной пасты, например
  2. Органический суп в пакетиках
  3. Чай улонг

Рецепт китайского овощного супа.

Ингредиенты

  • Сладкий перец – 1/2 – 1 шт
  • Помидоры черри – 4 шт
  • Морковь – 1 шт среднего размера
  • Зеленая стручковая фасоль – 3-4 шт
  • Брюссельская капуста – 4 шт
  • Стебель сельдерея
  • Бок -чой (или китайская листовая капуста) 3-4 листочка
  • Имбирь – 1 см корня
  • Челнобородник лимонный
  • Перец пеперонни или другой острый стручковый перец – по вкусу
  • Луковица – 1/2 шт
  • Чеснок – 1 долька
  • Зелень кориандра – несколько веточек
  • 1 чашка китайской лапши
  • Черный перец по вкусу
  • 4 стакана воды

Указания

  1. Помыть и очистить овощи. Порезать сладкий перец и морковь соломкой, лук – кружочками, и помидроры черри – на 4 части, брюссельскую капусту – на половинки или четвертинки, стручковую фасоль на несколько кусочков поперек, и мелко порежьте сельдерей. Натрите имбирь на терки и челнобородник лимонные на несколько кусочков поперек. Очистить острый стручковый перец от семян и разрезать на несколько кусочков.  Порезать бак Чой на мелкие кусочки поперек.
  2. Налить воду в кастрюлю и довести до кипения. Добавить имбирь, черный перец, челнобородник лимонный, сладкий перец, лук, брюссельскую капусту, стручковую фасоль, сельдерей, помидоры и бок чой.  Добавить острый перец по вкусу. Томить на среднем огне.
  3. Добавить лапшу и варить еще примерно 5 минут, помешивая.
  4. Перед подачей добавить листья кориандра и мелко нарезанный чеснок.