Viennese sweet fairy. Vegan Chestnut Cream Cake Recipe.

It used to be easy to be vegan in Vienna.

While strolling through bakery together with a friend, looking at  the  25 + delicious cakes, but none is vegan. One of my colleagues  (we are over  100 in the open space just on the trading floor) invites me to celebrate her birthday with generous treats ” Please try this fruit tartalette”. But there is no vegan ones in the festive collection. Back in these happy times one could go daily guilt free to bakeries and birthday celebrations, without any worry about the weight.

BUT…
In 2015 Melanie Kröpfl opened NomNom, first vegan bakery in Vienna.

When Melanie was 9 years old, she refused eating animals. It stalled her father, Siegfried Kröpfl, famous Austria chef. When he was working as a chef in a restaurant at the historical luxury hotel Imperial in Vienna he earned 2 toques (16 points out of 20). Such star chefs of the haute cuisine in Austria are called chefs of the high toques (caps). Thanks  to his daughter’s stubbornness Mr Kröpfl became first and the only one for now vegan star chef of the haute cuisine in Austria.

Melanie chose to become a confectioner and took an intensive training in vegan pastries from the queen of vegan deserts Fran Costigan in New York.

Father and daughter have already published 3 books: “We cook vegan”, “We bake vegan” (I have this book), “Vegan Christmas”. Siegfried Kropfl has also created vegan recipe book for Thermomix.

One can try all the Viennese Sweet Classics – Esterhazy, Molokoff, Black Forest, chocolate truffle, Linzer torte, punch cake, marble cupcake….. Melanie also likes to create colorful cupcake collections.

Some historians claim that Austrians took the art of confectionary from Hungarians back in the early imperial times. But they did it with such talent that Viennese confectionaries are included in the Registry of the World Cultural Heritage UNESCO. Or perhaps just coffee houses? But are there any coffee houses in existence without the sweets?

From Melanie’s kind permission I am sharing recipe from her e-book “Vegan Christmas”.

Going to visit Vienna? Lets  sit down in NomNom, Viennese style with cake.

The recipe is published with the kind agreement by the creator vegan sweet fairy Melani Kröpfl

Vegan Chestnut Cream Cake Recipe 

Ingredients


For chocolate batter

  • Flour – 250 g (8.8 oz)
  • Sugar – 150 g (5.3 oz)
  • Baking powder – 10 g (0.4 oz)
  • Cacao powder – 30 g (1 oz)
  • Sunflower oil  – 100 ml (0.4 cup)
  • Rice milk – 250 ml (1 cup)
  • For chestnut cream
  • Almond milk – 300 ml (1.27 cup)
  • Vanilla pudding powder or cornstarch – 40 g (1.4 oz)
  • Powdered sugar – 120 g (4.2 oz)
  • Vegetable shortening – 200 g (7 oz)
  • Chestnut puree – 160 g (5.6 oz)
  • For decoration chestnut sprinkles – 200 g (7 oz)

Directions

  1. For the base combine dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, cacao powder). Combine wet ingredients (oil, almond milk). Whisk all ingredients together. Pour the batter into a prepared 9inch (25 cm)  pan. Bake at 356°F ( 180C)  for 40 – 45min.
  2. Let cake cool completely. Shave off the top of the cake if it is uneven. Keep it in the baking pan – you will need the frame for the cream.
  3. For the cream combine almond milk and cornstarch in a pot. Bring to a boil while whisking non-stop, until you get a pudding-like texture. Let pudding cool completely: You can whisk until it’s cool or you can cover tightly with plastic wrap and wait a few minutes.
  4. Beat sugar with shortening. Slowly add the pudding while mixing. Then mix in the chestnut purée. Spread the cream on the chocolate cake.
  5. To decorate add the chestnut sprinkles on top of the cream. Refrigerate your cake over night, so the cream can get firm.

(recipe is copyright Melanie Kröpfl)

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

Венская сладкая волшебница. Рецепт каштанового кремового торта

Ах, как раньше веганом в Вене было  легко.

Заглянешь в кондитерскую по случаю с подругой, а среди 25 + изысканных тортиков веганских нет. Или кто -нибудь из коллег ( а их только на trading floor больше 100) отмечает день рожденье, зазывает к столу и угощает щедро – попробуй эту фруктовый тарталетку. А веганских – то нет в его праздничной коллекции. Вот в те счастливые времена можно без зазрения совести каждый день ходить в кондитерские и на дни рождения, не опасаясь за фигуру.

НО…
В 2015 Мелани Крёпфль открыла nomnom_v,  первую веганскую кондитерскую в Вене.

Дело в том, что в 9 лет Мелани категорически отказалась есть животных. Это поставило в тупик ее отца Зигфрида Крепфля, известного австрийского шеф-повара. Когда он  работал шефом в ресторане исторической гостиницы класса Люкс “Империал” в Вене, он заработал 2 колпака ( 16 баллов из 20). Таких призанных повароа высокой кухни в Австрии называют повара высоких колпаков. Из-за упрямства дочери г- н Крепфл стал первым и пока единственным веганским шефом высокой кухни в Австрии.

Мелани же выбрала стезю кондитера и в 2014 году прошла также интенсивный тренинг по веганской выпуске в Нью-Йорке у королевы веганских десертов Фран Костиган.

Отец с дочерью издали уже 3 книги “Мы готовим по- вегански”, ” Мы печем по-вегански” (у меня такая книга есть), “Веганское рождество”.  Зигфрид Крёпфль также создал веганскую книгу рецептов для Термомикса.

У Мелани можно попробовать все Венскую сладкую классику – Эстерхази, Молокофф, Черный лес, шоколадный трюфель, Линцский торт, пуншевое пирожное, мраморный кекс… И еще Мелани любит создавать красочные коллекции капкейков.

Некоторые историки утверждают, что кондитерское искусство австрийцы переняли у венгров еще в ранние имперские времена. Но это они сделали так талантливо, что Венские кондитерские внесены в реестр мирового культурного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Или может быть только кофейни? Впрочем, какая кофейня может быть без сладкого?

С любезного разрешения Мелани я публикую в блоге рецепт из ее электронной книги “Веганское рождество”.

Собираетесь в Вену? Давайте посидим по-Венски  с кофе с тортиком в НомНом.

Рецепт веганского каштаного кремового торта.

Ингредиенты

  • Для коржей
  • Мука – 250 г
  • Сахар – 150 г
  • Разрыхлитель – 10 г
  • Какао порошок – 30 г
  • Растительное масло – 100 мл
  • Рисовое молоко – 250 мл
  • Форма для выпекания 25 см диаметром
  • Для крема
  • Миндальное молоко – 300 мл
  • Порошок для ванильного пудинга (можно заменить кукурузным крахмалом) 40 г
  • Сахарная пудра – 120 г
  • Растительный жир или маргарин – 200 г
  • Пюре из каштанов – 160 г
  • Декорация – Каштановая присыпка – 200 г

Указания

  1. Смешать сухие ингредиенты для коржа (мука, сахар, разрыхлитель, какао). Отдельно смешать текучие ингредиенты (масло и молоко) и вмешать их в сухую смесь. Готовое тесто вылит в форму для выпекания и выпекать в духовке 40 – 45 минут при температуре 180 С.
  2. Дать коржу полностью остыть, срезать излишки, чтобы выровнять корж. Оставьте корж в форме, так как она понадобиться я следующих шагов.
  3. Для крема порошок для пудинга вмешать в миндальное молоко, и разогреть, постоянно помешивая, пока смесь не получит консистенцию пудинга. Остудить пудинг. Либо помешивать, пока смесь не остынет или плотно накрыть прозрачной пластиковой пленкой на несколько минут.
  4. Взбить сахарную пудру с маргарином. Вбить постепенно в массу охлажденный пудинг. Затем вмешать каштановое пюре. Готовый крем намазать равномерно и ровно на корж. Здесь нам как раз и пригодиться форма.
  5. Декорировать крем сверху каштановой присыпкой. Поставить торт в холодильник на ночь, чтобы зафиксировать крем.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

*